I SPEAK

I SPEAK

by Ayo Ayoola

i speak, i speak,

i speak by the glow of the moonlight

Where is that nonsense?

Where is that sense?                                                                                                                                                                 I was born when the sun sang

I saw starkly like an open flower

before the heat came down my mind came down.

i speak, i speak,

i speak words like waterfall

and the days go blind,

and hearts go deaf

The earth is my body,

so i worship bubbles and waited

for a blissful undisturbed sense.

i speak, i speak,

i speak like my flesh

i have learned to smell burnt words.

that hit upon my heart

yet my face laughs like hyena

And yours like a drain

sitting in the sky as

blue as a swimming pool

My sense runs nowhere

I speak, i speak

I speak like the sunrise

At dawn, life is on the whole

sense and nonsense

and at dusk nothing absolutely nothing.

My head ran everywhere and sang

till the river dried up in all places.

i speak, i speak

i speak  like the morning

waken from her dream.

What is that nonsense?

What is that sense?

i saw sense in nonsense and nonsense in sense.

And leaned where the sun ran

no longer welling up and out

I never quite know…

I speak, i speak

i speak like nature

I sang my mind out like tulips.

My sense runs everywhere.

Who is that nonsense?

Who is that sense?

You know it, because you are in it.

I speak, i speak,

I speak like a god

there’s a rose in my heart

and stink in the sink.

I’ve had enough

I can’t find my head.

but I  have learned to keep my two clay heads.

©ayo ayoola-amale  2015

Leave a Reply

